Links on Android Authority may earn us a commission. Learn more.
Screenshotting is a quick way to capture a moment on social media. However, the function has made it that nothing posted is ever permanent. Even with services like Snapchat that are temporary by nature, there are ways around saving its content. Therefore, alerts that someone has taken screenshots are used as a privacy measure. Does Facebook follow suit and notify when you screenshot?
Read more: Does Instagram notify when you take a screenshot?
No, Facebook does not notify when you take a screenshot of a post. However, Messenger chats will notify users if someone screenshots a disappearing message.
As it concerns good ol’ fashioned Facebook, no, the social media site does not notify users if someone takes a screenshot of content on their profile, including posts or images. So, it’s best not to share anything that you might regret later. However, you can remove or hide posts from your profile at any time without deleting your account.
As for Facebook Messenger, a recent update to end-to-end encrypted chats does provide notifications when it detects someone screenshotting a disappearing message. Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg demonstrated the new feature by posting a screenshot of a conversation with his wife, Priscilla Chan.
Meta already had a vanishing feature, which would remove messages after a set timer. However, it is still possible for someone to forward, copy, or screenshot the message before it disappears. The new alert is intended to help correct this by informing users how and when their content is captured. The feature is only available on Android, iPhone, and iPad devices.
Of course, keep in mind that Facebook collects all your data, even when they say they don’t. Unfortunately, there’s no notification when the tech giant saves a record of everything you share, like, or post on its platform.
Read more: How to take screenshots on the Google Pixel 6 series
Can you tell if someone takes a screenshot on Facebook?
Not on Facebook, but you will be notified if someone takes a screenshot of your message on Facebook Messenger.
Can someone tell if you take a screenshot on Facebook?
Not on Facebook, but a user will be notified if you take a screenshot of their message on Facebook Messenger.